things above.

Recently, and I mean, recently, I was incredibly inspired by a friend of mine.  First off, in some ways, I feel like I’m walking through a different season; even as of a few weeks ago.  Things are shifting here; things that have been shaking for the past two years ALMOST feel like they’re settling.  Not the bad settling.  The good settling.  Why did we think starting a new life with new people wouldn’t take time?  News flash, it does.  Especially if you don’t love to leave your house.  Ahem, hi.

Anyways, while sitting in my friends kitchen, with my other friend, we both were talking about the fun ups and downs about having roommates.  College dorm-roommates are totally different than house-roommates.  If you’ve experienced this, you know the validity behind that.  If you have never experienced it, it is a beautiful and ugly thing.  Women, usually, by nature, are created to lead; to create; to take charge.  Not in that domineering way, but they don’t call it a maternal instinct for nothing.  When there’s 3 or 4 of you all coming into that place in life, you can imagine where the fun starts…

People are human. I am human.  I come with faults, issues, and all that.  Definitely working on those things, and when you live with someone else, it’s basically like looking in a mirror everyday.  You see the good, the bad, and of course, the ugly.  Trying to articulate those not-so-Jesus moments can be tricky, because we all know it’s way easier to talk down about someone than to champion them.  Well, for most of us.

I’ll cut to the chase.

I was inspired.  I was heart-checked.  Keeping our minds on all that is pure, loving, righteous… does not leave our hearts and minds much room for all the petty stuff.  The stuff that our carnal hearts feed off of.  To cultivate your heart into believing that everything we do, we do unto the Lord.  THAT MEANS EVERYTHING.  When I was reminded of that, honestly, I thought… that even means my work.  The days I hate being there, I do it unto the Lord.  Those kids, they are as unto the Lord.

I mean, have you ever stopped and read Philippians?  Paul is pretty clear from the beginning of chapter 4, how we are to position our hearts and minds.

The peace of God follows those who keep their minds on, “whatever is true, honorable, just, pure, lovely, commendable, excellent, whatever is worthy of praise,” and it should be no shock or surprise that Paul ends with, “…practice these things, and the peace of God will be with you.”

My friend beautifully put this reminder in front of me and without sounding overly dramatic, I felt it change my heart.  Consider it a challenge, a life goal, or anything along those lines; but what are you doing to see this happen in your life?  We are all very aware of it.

“May the words of my mouth, and the song of my heart, be a reflection of who you are… ” (SisterBrother.)

If you’ve never listened to the band, I suggest you do.

One thought on “things above.

  1. Carla, thanks for being so real. I’m in my last year of undergrad so it’s refreshing to read about your journey with the Lord. You briefly mentioned college in your post but…..what is one piece of advice/wisdom/insight that helped you most in the transition form college to career life? I respect what you’ve written in your blog so I would love to hear bit about that experience for you!

Leave a Reply

